Autumn is Around the Corner

As for seasons, make mine autumn, for the vibrant colour, the dusty, leafy smells, the scudding clouds, the blue of the clear skies, the whole fall fun in the outdoors happens in southwestern Ontario. Heading north from the Toronto or Kitchener regions, driving the escarpment roads (Mono Mills, Orangeville) provides lots of hiking stops on many trails. I have lots to look forward to as summer is waning. Officially another month, but for most people, the summer season ends when the school year begins.

Not so me now. The children are grown and on their own, last one graduated Honours Bachelor of Computing Science back in December 2011 (great job he has now, too!), the first one married 12 years this week. For the past few years, I have had the freedom to extend summer until the true fall. This year, I plan a few early September campouts (short ones) at Long Point Provincial Park. The camping there suits me well, the beach is wide with fine sand and I expect to see some interesting birds. If I’m lucky, I will spot a turtle or two, and snakes.

My earlier blogs feature southwestern Ontario fav destinations of mine. There is no breaking the pattern here. It’s where I live, where I work, where I play. I don’t often get much further afield. And that’s ok with me. Sure, some day I want to hike in Scotland, around London UK, the Texas coast, maybe some mountain passes. While that’s not happening, I have had super times enjoying the natural beauty of summer in Ontario.

Over the next few weeks, my blog will be a retrospective of my summer travels in southwestern Ontario this year.

Today, it’s June outings, including 2 camp outs at Long Point Provincial Park (part of a UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve on Lake Erie’s north shore, just south of the village of Port Rowan, ON) and a trail walk at Pinery Provincial Park (a few kms south of Grand Bend, ON) complete with pictures of POISON IVY. It’s a big concern in most southwestern Ontario parks (and countryside). Great advice to Stay on Trails. If you don’t and you run into this stuff, it’s rash, itch and misery. These feelings run counter to a fun vacation at the lake, so keep you, your children and your pets out of the grasses and on the trails.

Oh, and don’t forget the Lyme disease carrying ticks found at both of these parks. Keep on the trails and you should be safe from this unfortunate natural reality. Ticks hang out on the dune grasses, in trees and bushes. They wait for a host to brush against them and move them forward in life. That moving forward might involve dining on the blood of you, your children or your pets. It’s gruesome, but true.

Stay on Trails and you should be fine.

I’m not trying to scare you away so that the places will be less busy, really. Just cautionary talk.

On to June 21-Canada Day weekend pics, I hope you enjoy seeing them.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you have any questions about any of my travels, please don’t hesitate to leave a message. Or if you have great memories of these places, please share. My next blog will be July, and there’s plenty more pics where these came from.

Wishing you a great end of summer.

Leave a Reply

