August 2013 – month of change

Summer in southwestern Ontario, Canada, offers variable, but usually warm weather, with a chance of thunderstorms morphing into tornadoes. Not as often as the U.S. mid-west, but enough to require alertness to forecasts’ watches and warnings. Here’s another type of warning: biting bugs.

In the north of Ontario, blackflies and mosquitoes can be a problem, but in the south, it’s mosquitoes and stable flies. Stable flies are nasty little biters and they will attack you to bite a chunk of you, usually from your legs. Bug repellant does not deter them. They are prevalent on the sandy beaches of Lake Huron and Lake Erie – I haven’t vacationed on Lake Ontario, but I assume they are there, too. Best bet is to wear pants and shirts with sleeves to avoid their bites. However, if it’s a windy day, they are less active on the beach.

Personally, my August 2013 was a month of change. I began a job with the Kitchener Waterloo Symphony and was very busy securing a new home. As a result, I visited my fav parks only a few times. But, there are pictures:


The trip from Kitchener to Pinery is 1.5 hours compared to London to Pinery = 45 minutes. I visited much less often, but the drive early on a Saturday morning provides plenty of enjoyment. I love to drive in the countryside, not in the winter, though.

Thank you for checking my August 2013 blog entry. Please comment or ask questions about travel in southwestern Ontario.

Leave a comment